Deakin Residents’ Association Inc. is a non-profit association incorporated in the Australian Capital Territory

DRA objectives are:

To enhance the residential, suburban, social and environmental qualities of Deakin, consistent with garden city planning principles. To contribute through community discussion to planning and land management in the ACT as it impacts on Deakin residents.

Membership is open to any resident of Deakin or holder of a residential lease in Deakin.

Our current focus is on:

  1. Retaining Deakin’s garden-suburb environment
  2. Overflow parking into Deakin streets
  3. Vehicle numbers, speed, and pedestrian safety
  4. Impact and benefits of proposed Light Rail
  5. Constraining non-compliant property developers and dodgy builders

The Committee for 2016-17 is:

  • President – Dr George Wilson
  • Vice-President – Di Johnstone [Public Officer]
  • Secretary – Joel Tu
  • Treasurer – Kate Hambly
  • Member – Helen Allnutt
  • Member – Dr John Bell
  • Member – Mary Baumgarten

Current Issues - 2017

Federal Golf Club Development

The ACT Government  is facilitating a ‘community panel’ to engage with the Federal Golf Club and their developer in relation to proposed future development of

Read More »

Deakin Has History

Under this topic we are collecting and presenting information on the history of the suburb of Deakin – its origins, its development, its residents. If

Read More »