24 May / 2017

Annual General Meeting Outcomes – Nov 2016

2016 Annual General Meeting outcome

A well-attended Annual General Meeting of Deakin Residents’ Association, Inc. took place on 29th November 2016 at the Canberra Bridge Club in Deakin.

Guest speaker Mr Andrew Smith, Chief Planner of the National Capital Authority, spoke frankly and interestingly about issues facing the National Capital Authority regarding:

  • “Garden City principles, the City Beautiful, and demands for densification in Inner South Canberra.”
  • “Light rail in the National Capital Area and on main approach roads.”

He took questions and there was a lively discussion on many aspects of the planning issues and on conflicts between development pressures and the existing character of the suburb.

Here is the link to The President’s report to the AGM on activities during the year, and on the outlook for the coming year.

The 2016 AGM has elected the following Committee for 2016-17:

  • President: George Wilson
  • Vice-President: Di Johnstone
  • Treasurer: Kate Hambly
  • Secretary: Joel Tu
  • Committee Members:
    • John Bell
    • Mary Baumgarten
    • Helen Allnutt